On Tour 01/21/22-02/19/22 “The Cicada Tree” by Robert Gwaltney

Release Date: February 22, 2022

About The Book:

It’s the summer of 1956, and a brood of cicadas descends upon Providence, Georgia. It’s a natural event with supernatural repercussions, and unhinges the life of Analeise Newell, an eleven-year-old piano prodigy. Amidst this emergence, dark obsessions are stirred, uncanny gifts provoked, and secrets unearthed.  

During a visit to Mistletoe, a plantation owned by the wealthy Mayfield family, Analeise encounters Cordelia Mayfield and her daughter Marlissa, both of whom possess an otherworldly beauty. A whisper and an act of violence perpetrated during this visit by Mrs. Mayfield all converge to kindle Analeise’s fascination with the Mayfields.

Analeise’s burgeoning obsession with the Mayfield family overshadows her own seemingly ordinary life, culminating in dangerous games and manipulation, and setting off a chain of cataclysmic events with life-altering consequences—all unfolding to the maddening whir of a cicada song.

About The Author:

Robert Gwaltney, a writer of southern fiction, is a graduate of Florida State University. He resides in Atlanta Georgia with his partner, where he is an active member of the Atlanta literary community. By day, he serves as Vice President of Easter Seals North Georgia, Inc., Children Services, a non-profit supporting children with disabilities and other special needs. Robert’s work has appeared in such publications as The Signal Mountain Review and The Dead Mule School of Southern Literature. Robert also serves as Prose Editor for The Blue Mountain Review. https://robertlgwaltney.com/

Social Media: 

Instagram : https://instagram.com/robertgwaltneyjr

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robert.gwaltney.9

Book Blurbs: 

“Gwaltney’s Southern Gothic, THE CICADA TREE mesmerizes and seduces, the language redolent and deadly, the characters steeped in secrets and madness, and the whole of it an enthralling and perfect read. Easily my favorite book of the year.”

—Kim Taylor Blakemore, bestselling author of AFTER ALICE FELL

This is Southern Gothic with a vengeance—a dark blast of family secrets, strained loyalties, and bitter betrayals. We follow young Analeise Newell with fear and hope, dreading what may happen to her even as we turn the pages. Robert Gwaltney is a writer to watch.” –Christopher Swann, author of Never Turn Back (Crooked Lane Books)

Bloggers On Tour:

Jan. 21st- Bookoholic Cafe https://instagram.com/bookoholiccafe

Jan. 21st- Noor The Bookworm https://instagram.com/noorthebookworm

Jan. 23rd-  Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine

Jan. 24th – Nurse Bookie https://instagram.com/nurse_bookie

Jan. 27th – Books and Coffee MX https://instagram.com/booksandcoffeemx

Jan. 28th- Dani Reads https://instagram.com/dani.reads.1225

Jan. 30th- Bookish Heidi https://instagram.com/bookish.heidi

Feb. 2nd- Shooks Books https://instagram.com/shook_sbooks

Feb. 2nd – Sarahs Bookstack https://instagram.com/sarahs.bookstack

Feb. 4th- Bookishly Becky https://instagram.com/bookishlybecky

Feb. 7th-Biblio Reviews https://instagram.com/biblioreviews 

Feb. 8th – Rajivs Reviews https://instagram.com/rajivsreviews

Feb.12th- Reecas Pieces Books https://instagram.com/reecaspiecesbooks 

Feb. 16th – Subakka Bookstuff https://instagram.com/subakka.bookstuff

Feb. 18th- We Break For Books https://instagram.com/webreakforbooks

Feb. 19th- Novels and Latte Book Club –https://www.facebook.com/groups/357651988042629

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close