On Tour 1/2/22-1/31/22 “The Saints Of Swallow Hill” by Donna Everhart

Release Date: 1/25/22

About The Book:

Where the Crawdads Sing meets The Four Winds as award-winning author Donna Everhart’s latest novel immerses readers in its unique setting—the turpentine camps and pine forests of the American South during the Great Depression—for a captivating story of friendship, survival, and three vagabonds’ intersecting lives.

It takes courage to save yourself…

Few writers evoke the complexities of the heart and the gritty fascination of the American South as vividly as Donna Everhart, whose lyrical new novel, set against the background of the Great Depression, is a powerful story of courage, survival, and friendship…

In the dense pine forests of North Carolina, turpentiners labor, hacking into tree trunks to draw out the sticky sap that gives the Tar Heel State its nickname, and hauling the resin to stills to be refined. Among them is Rae Lynn Cobb and her husband, Warren, who run a small turpentine farm together.

Though the work is hard and often dangerous, Rae Lynn, who spent her childhood in an orphanage, is thankful for it—and for her kind if careless husband. When Warren falls victim to his own negligence, Rae Lynn undertakes a desperate act of mercy. To keep herself from jail, she disguises herself as a man named “Ray” and heads to the only place she can think of that might offer anonymity—a turpentine camp in Georgia named Swallow Hill.

Swallow Hill is no easy haven. The camp is isolated and squalid, and commissary owner Otis Riddle takes out his frustrations on his browbeaten wife, Cornelia. Although Rae Lynn works tirelessly, she becomes a target for Crow, the ever-watchful woods rider who checks each laborer’s tally. Delwood Reese, who’s come to Swallow Hill hoping for his own redemption, offers “Ray” a small measure of protection, and is determined to improve their conditions. As Rae Lynn forges a deeper friendship with both Del and Cornelia, she begins to envision a path out of the camp. But she will have to come to terms with her past, with all its pain and beauty, before she can open herself to a new life and seize the chance to begin again. 

About the Author and Social:

Donna Everhart is a USA Today bestselling author who writes stories of family hardship and troubled times in a bygone south. A native of North Carolina, she resides in her home state with her husband and their tiny heart stealing Yorkshire terrier, Mister. 

Readers can also visit her at www.donnaeverhart.com.

Social Media:

Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/donnadaviseverhart/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/donnaeve2

Twitter: https://mobile.twitter.com/wordstogobuy

Bloggers On Tour: 

Jan. 2nd – Delightfully Booked https://instagram.com/delightfullybooked

Jan. 3rd- Cassie’s Book Reviews https://instagram.com/cassies_books_reviews  

Jan. 3rd- Noor The Bookworm https://instagram.com/noorthebookworm

Jan. 3rd- Biblio Reviews https://instagram.com/biblioreviews 

Jan. 4th- Bookoholic Cafe https://instagram.com/bookoholiccafe

Jan. 4th-Dani Reads https://instagram.com/dani.reads.1225

Jan. 4th – Laura’s Next Chapter https://instagram.com/laurasnextchapter

Jan. 5th -Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine

Jan. 5th – She Just Loves Books https://instagram.com/shejustlovesbooks

Jan. 6th – Lindas Book Obsession https://www.facebook.com/lindasbookobsession/ 

Jan. 7th – Literally Booked Solid https://instagram.com/literallybookedsolid

Jan. 7th – Reading With Mere-https://instagram.com/readingwithmere

Jan. 7th – Jackie Loves Books https://instagram.com/jackieslovesbooks

Jan. 8th – Reading Is My Remedy https://instagram.com/reading_is_my_remedy

Jan. 8th – Lexi Java https://instagram.com/lexijava

Jan. 10th- Rajivs Reviews https://instagram.com/rajivsreviews

Jan. 10th – KP The Bookworm https://instagram.com/kpthebookworm

Jan. 10th – The Mary Reader https://instagram.com/themaryreader 

Jan. 10th- Nurse Bookie https://instagram.com/nurse_bookie

Jan. 11th – Joannas Bookshelf https://instagram.com/joannasbookshelf

Jan. 12th – Texacali Books https://instagram.com/texacalibooks 

Jan. 13th – Jennifer Tar Heel Reader – http://www.jennifertarheelreader.com

https://instagram.com/tarheelreader

Jan. 13th – Subakka Bookstuff https://instagram.com/subakka.bookstuff

Jan. 14th – Well Read Traveler https://instagram.com/wellreadtraveler

Jan. 16th – Coffee Books Dogs https://instagram.com/coffeedogsbooks

Jan. 18th – PNWX Bibliophile https://instagram.com/pnwxbibliophile

Jan. 19th – The Book Club Mom https://instagram.com/thebookclubmom

Jan. 19th -Bryant Park Books https://instagram.com/bryantparkbooks

Jan. 19th- Marilyn Goncalves https://instagram.com/marilynjgon 

Jan. 20th- Books Are Magic Too https://instagram.com/booksaremagictoo

Jan. 20th -Bookapotamus https://instagram.com/bookapotamus 

Jan. 20th – DB Reads https://instagram.com/db.reads

Jan. 21st- Sho Biz Reads https://instagram.com/shobizreads 

Jan. 24th – Reading With Nicole https://instagram.com/reading_with_nicole

Jan. 25th – Amy Lynn Lifestyle https://instagram.com/amylynnlifestyle

Jan. 31st- Sealed With A Book https://instagram.com/sealedwithabook

Jan. 31st – Sweet Honey And Brei https://instagram.com/sweethoneyandbrei

Jan. 31st- Reecas Pieces Books https://instagram.com/reecaspiecesbooks 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close