On Tour 9/10/21-11/29/21 “From The Ashes” by Jesse Thistle

Release Date: June 8, 2021

About The Book:

Abandoned by his parents as a toddler, Jesse Thistle and his two brothers were cut off from all they knew when they were placed in the foster care system. Eventually placed with their paternal grandparents, the children often clashed with their tough-love attitude. Worse, the ghost of Jesse’s drug-addicted father seemed to haunt the memories of every member of the family.

Soon, Jesse succumbed to a self-destructive cycle of drug and alcohol addiction and petty crime, resulting in more than a decade living on and off the streets. Facing struggles many of us cannot even imagine, Jesse knew he would die unless he turned his life around. Through sheer perseverance and newfound love, he managed to find his way back into the loving embrace of his Indigenous culture and family.

About The Author:

Jesse Thistle is Métis-Cree, from Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, and an assistant professor in Humanities at York University in Toronto. From the Ashes was the top-selling Canadian book in 2020, the winner of the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize for Nonfiction, Indigenous Voices Award, and High Plains Book Award, and also a finalist for CBC Canada Reads. Jesse won a Governor General’s Academic Medal in 2016, and is a Pierre Elliot Trudeau Foundation Scholar and a Vanier Scholar. A frequent keynote speaker, he lives in Hamilton, Ontario, with his wife, Lucie, and is at work on multiple projects, including his next book. Visit him at www.JesseThistle.com .

Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thistlejesse

Instagram: https://instagram.com/czechmet

Book Blurbs: 

“Readers will be gripped.” –Publishers Weekly (Starred review) 

Blown away by From the Ashes. An eloquent memoir of Métis life and surviving the streets by con-turned-scholar Jesse Thistle.” —Emma Donoghue, bestselling author of Room 

“A courageously heartfelt journey from profound self-destruction to redemption.” —Kirkus 

Bloggers On Tour:

Sept. 10th – Cassie’s Book Reviews https://instagram.com/cassies_books_reviews  

Sept. 30th Love My Books 2020 https://instagram.com/lovemybooks2020

Oct. 8th – Rajivs Reviews https://instagram.com/rajivsreviews

Oct. 8th – Reading With Mere-https://instagram.com/readingwithmere

Oct. 13th – Book Low Down https://instagram.com/booklowdown

Oct. 17th – Totahly Booked https://instagram.com/totahlybooked 

Oct. 18th – Bookapotamus https://instagram.com/bookapotamus

Oct. 20th – Read A Lot Write A Lot https://instagram.com/readalotwritealot

Oct. 22nd – Subakka Bookstuff https://instagram.com/subakka.bookstuff

Oct. 28th -Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine

Nov. 3rd – David L Morgan https://instagram.com/david_l_morgan

Nov. 8th – Bookish Heidi https://instagram.com/bookish.heidi

Nov. 11th – Bookworm Struggles  https://instagram.com/bookworm.struggles

Nov. 12th – Delightfully Booked https://instagram.com/delightfullybooked 

Nov. 12th -Geaux Get Lit https://instagram.com/geauxgetlit

Nov. 15th -Books Love And Understanding https://instagram.com/booksloveandunderstanding

Nov. 15th – American Lit Teacher https://instagram.com/americanlitteacher

Nov. 20th- Lexi Java https://instagram.com/lexijava

Nov. 25th  – We Break For Books https://instagram.com/webreakforbooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close