On Tour 06/08/21-06/27/21 “The Islanders” by Mary Alice Monroe with Angela May

Release Date: June 15, 2021

About The Book:

From New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe comes a beautiful story of friendship, loss, and the healing power of nature in her first book for middle grade readers.

Twelve-year-old Jake’s life has just turned upside-down. His father was wounded in Afghanistan, and his mother is going to leave to care for him. That means Jake’s spending the summer on tiny Dewees Island with his grandmother. The island is a nature sanctuary—no cars or paved roads, no stores or restaurants. To make matters worse, Jake’s grandmother doesn’t believe in cable or the internet. Which means Jake has no cell phone, no video games…and no friends. This is going to be the worst summer ever!

He’s barely on the island before he befriends two other kids—Macon, another “summer kid,” and Lovie, know-it-all who lives there and shows both Jake and Macon the ropes of life on the island. All three are struggling with their own family issues and they quickly bond, going on adventures all over Dewees Island. Until one misadventure on an abandoned boat leads to community service. Their punishment? Mandatory duty on the Island Turtle Team. The kids must do a daily dawn patrol of the beach on the hunt for loggerhead sea turtle tracks. When a turtle nest is threatened by coyotes, the three friends must find a way to protect it. Can they save the turtle nest from predators? Can Jake’s growing love for the island and its inhabitants (be they two-legged, four-legged, feathered, or finned) help to heal his father?

About The Authors:

Mary Alice Monroe is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty books, including the Beach House series: The Beach House, Beach House Memories, Swimming Lessons, Beach House for Rent, and Beach House Reunion. She is a 2018 Inductee into the South Carolina Academy of Authors’ Hall of Fame, and her books have received numerous awards, including the 2008 South Carolina Center for the Book Award for Writing, the 2014 South Carolina Award for Literary Excellence, the 2015 SW Florida Author of Distinction Award, the RT Lifetime Achievement Award, the International Book Award for Green Fiction, and the 2017 Southern Book Prize for Fiction. Her bestselling novel The Beach House is also a Hallmark Hall of Fame movie. She is the cocreator and cohost of the weekly web show and podcast Friends & Fiction. An active conservationist, she lives in the lowcountry of South Carolina. Visit her at www.MaryAliceMonroe.com

 and at Facebook.com/MaryAliceMonroe.

Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/maryalicemonroe

Instagram: https://instagram.com/maryalicemonroe

Twitter: @maryalicemonroe

Angela May is the co-author of The Islanders with Mary Alice Monroe and founder of May Media and PR, LLC.  An award-winning former television news journalist, Angela markets books and promotes community stories as a media specialist. Angela has lead Mary Alice Monroe’s author team for more than a decade and The Islanders is their first book together.  She lives with her family in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. https://www.angelamaybooks.com/

Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/angelamaybooks

Instagram: https://instagram.com/angelamaybooks

Twitter: @angelamaybooks

Bloggers On Tour:

June 8th – Little Linds Reads https://instagram.com/littlelindsreads

June 8th – Texacali Books https://instagram.com/texacalibooks 

June 8th- Nurse Bookie https://instagram.com/nurse_bookie

June 8th- Cassie’s Book Reviews https://instagram.com/cassies_books_reviews  

June 9th- The Caffeinated Reader https://instagram.com/the.caffeinated.reader

June 9th- Eli Loves Books 16 https://instagram.com/elilovesbooks16

June 9th -The Crocheted Review https://instagram.com/thecrochetedreview

June 10th – Subakka Bookstuff https://instagram.com/subakka.bookstuff

June 10th- Idaho Girl Reads https://instagram.com/idahogirlreads

June 10th – Bookshelf Momma https://instagram.com/bookshelfmomma

June 11th – Lindas Book Obsession https://www.facebook.com/lindasbookobsession/ 

June 14th – Bookish Heidi https://instagram.com/bookish.heidi

June 14th- Books Are Magic Too https://instagram.com/booksaremagictoo

June 15th -Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine

June 16th- Rajivs Reviews https://instagram.com/rajivsreviews

June 17th – Joannas Bookshelf https://instagram.com/joannasbookshelf

June17th – KP The Bookworm https://instagram.com/kpthebookworm

June 17th – Jennifer Tar Heel Reader – http://www.jennifertarheelreader.com

https://instagram.com/tarheelreader

June 17th – Jayme Reads https://instagram.com/jayme_reads

June 17th – Mrs Boom Reads https://instagram.com/mrsboomreads 

June 18th – Niks Nook https://instagram.com/niks_nook

June 19th -The Salty Bookworm https://instagram.com/thesaltybookworm

June 19th-Sweet Honey And Brei https://instagram.com/sweethoneyandbrei

June 21st -Books All The Way Down https://instagram.com/books.all.the.way.down

June 22nd-  Hannah Reads https://instagram.com/hannah_reads_

June 23th – 2 Babes And A Bookshelf https://instagram.com/2babesandabookshelf

June 25th – Bookoholic Cafe https://instagram.com/bookoholiccafe

June 26th- Rebecca Well Read https://instagram.com/rebecca_well_read

June 27th -Books Love And Understanding https://instagram.com/booksloveandunderstanding

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close