On Tour 08/01/22 – 09/30/22 “The Lives of Diamond Bessie” by Jody Hadlock

Release Date: April 5, 2022

About The Book:

Pregnant out of wedlock, sixteen-year-old Annie Moore is sent to live at a convent for fallen women. When the nuns take her baby, Annie escapes, determined to find a way to be reunited with her daughter. But few rights or opportunities are available to a woman in the 1860s, and after failing to find employment, Annie resorts to prostitution in order to survive.

As a highly sought-after demi-mondaine, Annie—now Bessie—garners many expensive gifts from her admirers, and eventually meets and marries the son of a jeweler, a traveling salesman with a gambling problem. With her marriage, she believes her dream of returning to proper society has finally come true. She’s proven wrong when she suffers the ultimate betrayal at the hands of the man she thought would be her salvation. But Bessie doesn’t let her story end there.

Set amid the burgeoning women’s rights movement, The Lives of Diamond Bessie is a haunting tale of betrayal, revenge, and redemption that explores whether seeking revenge is worth the price you might pay.

About The Author:

Jody Hadlock’s love of history goes all the way back to junior high, when she was a member of the Junior Historians of Texas, so it’s no surprise her first novel is historical. She worked as a broadcast journalist and then in nonprofit public relations before turning her focus to fiction. She also writes screenplays and won the 2020 Dallas International Film Festival’s screenplay contest. http://www.jodyhadlock.com/

Social Media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jodyhadlockauthor/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/jodyhadlock

Book Blurbs: 

In Hadlock’s genre-bending debut novel… [t]here’s an impressive deliberateness in the way that Hadlock presents her themes… The novel also skillfully uses foreshadowing to create a suspenseful atmosphere without giving the game away… An often engaging and inventive character study.”

~ Kirkus Reviews

“The Lives of Diamond Bessie is a picaresque, a courtroom drama, and a ghost story rolled into one, celebrating the heart and soul of a woman done wrong.” ~ Mark Beauregard, author of The Whale: A Love Story

“… a compelling novel of historical suspense… Bessie… is a character who will haunt you for all the right reasons—for her determination, her heart, and her soul. I was enthralled.” ~ M.J. Rose, NYT bestselling author of The Last Tiara

“Fast-paced, richly observed, and populated with vibrant characters, The Lives of Diamond Bessie is un-put-downable.” ~ Adrienne Brodeur, bestselling author of Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me

Bloggers On Tour:

Aug. 1st- Biblio Reviews https://instagram.com/biblioreviews 

Aug. 3rd- She Just Loves Books https://instagram.com/shejustlovesbooks

Aug. 11th- Sarahs Bookstack https://instagram.com/sarahs.bookstack

Aug. 11th- Sarahs Bookish Reviews https://instagram.com/sarahs.bookish.reviews

Aug. 22nd- Gwendalyn Books https://instagram.com/gwendalyn_books_

Aug. 24th- Geaux Get Lit https://instagram.com/geauxgetlit

Aug. 30th- Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine

Aug. 31st- Reading With Remy https://instagram.com/readingwithremy

Sept. 3rd- Reading Is My Remedy https://instagram.com/reading_is_my_remedy

Sept. 5th- Bookish Heidi https://instagram.com/bookish.heidi

Sept 14th- CMT Loves Wine and Books https://instagram.com/cmtloveswineandbooks

Sept. 14th- Shooks Books https://instagram.com/shook_sbooks

Sept. 16th- Subakka Bookstuff https://instagram.com/subakka.bookstuff

Sept. 19th- Nurse Bookie https://instagram.com/nurse_bookie

Sept. 23rd- Delightfully Brittany https://instagram.com/delightfully.brittany

Sept. 24th- Carol Doscher https://instagram.com/carol_doscher_reader

Sept. 30th- Nissa The Bookworm https://instagram.com/nissa_the.bookworm

Sept 30th-  Books and Coffee MX https://instagram.com/booksandcoffeemx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close